The Unique Aspects Of Halal Cakes: What Makes Them Different

|

Updated on 23-December-2021

Cakes, in general, are enjoyed all around the world, and each country has its take on these confectionery perfections. However, just because they're enjoyed everywhere doesn't mean everyone can go right ahead and sink their teeth into it for a variety of reasons, one of which is religious beliefs.


The typical cake that the world knows is made of ingredients with animal by-products, which people from the Islamic religion consider haram or forbidden. That's why you'll find a lot of halal-certified cakes in Singapore. However, what exactly constitutes a halal cake, and how are they different from those that aren't halal?


Halal cakes are very particular with ingredients


While most cakes can be made from any ingredient, halal cakes and pastries are made solely of those that are within what the Qur'an permits for consumption. This means that they don't contain any ingredient that is considered 'haram' or forbidden.


Sometimes, you cannot avoid the use of gelatine. While gelatine can be halal, more often than not, commercial gelatines are derived from animals. That's why halal cakes are very particular with the ingredients used. If an animal by-product such as gelatine has to be used, the animal needs to be slaughtered in a specific method. This method is also known as the halal way, which will make it safe for Muslim consumption.


Apart from gelatin and other animal by-products, alcohol is also an ingredient considered haram but is found in most cakes. Because of its volatile nature, alcohol in cakes is often used not for intoxication but to improve the taste and aroma of cakes.


Nevertheless, just because it isn't used to get you drunk doesn't mean it's halal. That's why most bakers go all-in when it comes to using natural extracts – it's an excellent alternative to alcohol, and it isn't haram.


Halal cakes are fresher and more natural


That's not to say that traditional cakes aren't fresh since bakers know they shouldn't use any ingredient that has exceeded its pre-determined shelf life. However, when it comes to halal baking cakes, freshness is taken to a whole new level.


This is because flavourings are often manually extracted from their source instead of bottled flavourings that you can find in the nearest baking supplies store. Moreover, baking halal cakes doesn't call for additives and emulsifiers to make sure that they're entirely made of fresh and natural ingredients.


Conclusion

The cake that everyone knows are guaranteed to be made of fresh ingredients. On the other hand, when it comes to halal cakes, not only are the ingredients safe for Muslims to enjoy, but they are also made of ingredients that are fresher and more natural than what is typically used.


If you're looking for a cake shop that provides the best halal-certified cakes, check out our great selections at Polar Puffs & Cakes. We offer various cakes, ranging from single cold slices and character cakes to 3D and whole cakes. If you want to order cake online and have it delivered, get in touch with us today!

Related Articles

Sweet Delights: Different Cakes You Can Sink Your Teeth In

Sweet Delights: Different Cakes You Can Sink Your Teeth In

When the craving for something sweet hits you, you might drool at the thought of cakes. If that's the case, here are some of the best ones you might like.

Read More
The Role Of Sugar In Baking: What Every Baker Needs To Know

The Role Of Sugar In Baking: What Every Baker Needs To Know

Sugar gives pastries the beloved sweet taste, but there is more to sugar than meets the eye. Read on to know its other essential functions in baking pastries!

Read More
Plain vs. Self-Rising Flour: Which One to Use in Baking?

Plain vs. Self-Rising Flour: Which One to Use in Baking?

Flour is a core ingredient that can either make or break your favourite baked goods. Find out which of the 2 major types of flour you should use when baking.

Read More